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FREQUENTLY ASKED QUESTIONS 

 
What is the Crime Victims’ Fund? 
 
The South Carolina Crime Victims’ Compensation Fund is a financial assistance program designed to help victims with 
expenses directly resulting from a crime that are not covered by other payment sources. It is administered by the State 
Office of Victim Assistance (SOVA), and is governed by state and federal laws. If you qualify for the program, it can pay 
certain costs for recovery treatment or burial arrangements up to the maximum allowed by law. 
 
What are the Eligibility Criteria? 

Crime must occur in South Carolina 
Victim must sustain direct injury-physical or psychological 
No contributory behavior (initiated or provoked incident) 
No illegal activity at time of crime 
Must cooperate with SOVA and Law Enforcement 
Crime must be reported within 48 hours 
Claim must be filed within 180 days 

__________________________________________________________________________________________          
Who is Able to Apply? 

 If you or a loved one were injured by violence, such as: 

Assault                                         Homicide                                                  
Domestic Violence                        Felony DUI w/bodily injury 
Sexual Assault                               Felony DUI w/death 
Reckless Homicide         
 

The crime must be a criminal offense. 
 
The State Office of Victim Assistance may be able to help you put the pieces back together. 
____________________________________________________________________________________________________________ 
Will law enforcement be involved with my claim?  

Yes. Law Enforcement will be contacted to confirm the facts of the case and provide additional information. Your claim  
cannot be processed without a copy of the law enforcement incident report. 



When will I know if I qualify? 

             After you have sent us the application you will be notified by us that you are eligible or ineligible. If you are eligible you 
will receive a “Notice of Award” that will list how much SOVA is going to pay on the bills you submitted. You may 
receive many of them while your claim is active. 

 __________________________________________________________________________________________  
If I qualify, what will SOVA pay? 
 

             SOVA can help with certain types of crime related costs. In every case, the expense has to be linked to losses from injury 
or death as a result of the crime. In order for payment to be considered, you must submit the medical claim form or 
explanation of benefits. 
*Up to combined total of $15,000 for: 

Medical/Dental Costs 
Counseling (from a licensed professional) 
Burial bills for a deceased victim (maximum $4,000.00) 
Lost Wages/Loss of Support 
Mileage to and from Dr. Appointments/Therapy Sessions 
Eyeglasses damaged during the victimization 

_________________________________________________________________________________________________ 
Do family members qualify?  
           

             Sometimes, if one of your immediate family members is a victim, you may be able to get counseling or receive part of 
your wages if you have to stay out of work to take care of him/her. If you paid the funeral bill for a family member who 
was a victim, you may be eligible to get back up to $4,000. Please call SOVA for additional detailed information. 

 __________________________________________________________________________________________________ 
If I do not qualify for SOVA funds what are the steps? 

If you do not qualify, you will be notified that your claim has been denied and you will receive a packet of information 
describing how to appeal SOVA’s decision. If you wish to appeal, follow the instructions in the appeal packet and appeal 
brochure. Please return the appeal application to SOVA within 30 days from receipt. 
__________________________________________________________________________________________________ 
What if I have insurance, am I eligible for SOVA benefits? 

The State Office of Victim Assistance is the payer of last resort. If the victim has insurance and elects not to use his/her 
insurance for treatment, SOVA will not cover the cost. It is the provider’s responsibility to ensure that other avenues of 
payment are explored and used. 
__________________________________________________________________________________________________ 
What is not covered by SOVA? 

             SOVA cannot pay for property damage (to include crime scene cleanup or items taken as evidence), any expenses related  
to going to court (to include legal fees or transportation), or “pain and suffering.”                
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