Support and Advocacy Provided Four VOCA Compensation

Requirements

DCVC

e Walk-in and Telephone Assessment and Under the Federal Victims of Crime Act Office of the Attornev General
Assistance (VOCA), victim advocates must ensure crime 4 .

e Assistance in Filing the Compensation victims of the following regarding crime [?ep_artment of Crl_me
Application victim compensation: Victim Compensation

e Referrals Provided

e Case Status Updates Provided (1) Notify crime victims of the availability

e Thorough Application Review of cpmpen_sation o _

e Support and Advocacy (2) Assist crime victims with DCVC

application forms and procedure
(3) Assist crime victims in obtaining
. necessary documentation to complete
Common Reasons a Claim their DCVG claim
May Be Delayed (4) Assist crime victims in checking on
DCVC claim status

No Valid Law Enforcement Incident Report
Victims’ name not on the Incident Report
Case still under Investigation

48 hours waiver not addressed

180 day waiver not addressed (DCVC)

Office of the Attorney General
Department of Crime Victim Compensation

No funeral/burial bill or information
Victim Not cooperating with law enforcement
or DCVC

Please note: list above is not exhaustive

Ineligible Claims:

All victims/claimants whose claims are
determined to be ineligible are notified of their
rights to appeal. Those who choose to appeal have
30 days to return the Appeal Application and
supporting documentation. Call DCVC for more
information.

Edgar A. Brown Building
1205 Pendleton Street, Room 401
Columbia, SC 29201
Main Office Phone: 803.734.1900

If you have questions about the program, Victims Only, Please: 1.800.220.5370

benefits, services, eligibility criteria and or
payment requirement, please contact (DCVC)
at 803.734.1900.

WWW.Sova.SsC.gov



http://www.sova.sc.gov/

What is Crime Services DCVC
Victim Compensation? May Consider For Payment

The South Carolina Crime Victims' Compensation * Medical ) )
Fund is a financial assistance program designed to » Dental or Orthodontic Services
help victims with expenses directly resulting from a e Lost Wages
crime, and not covered by other payment sources. e Loss of Support
The Fund is administered by the Department of e Counseling (licensed therapist)
Crime Victim Compensation (DCVC), and is ¢ Burial/Funeral Expenses (max. applies)
governed by state and federal laws. e Mileage for medical and or psychological

treatment only (min. 5 miles one way)
e Doctor ordered medicine, equipment, supplies

Note the following regarding payment
consideration:

Eligibility Criteria

¢ All services and treatments must be directly
related to the crime

e The crime must occur in South Carolina ¢ Pre-existing services and treatments will not

e The victim must sustain direct injury - be considered
(Physical or Psychological) e There is a combined max up to $15,000

e South Carolina law requires DCVC to consider ¢ Valid supporting documentation is required
contributory or illegal behavior when making e DCVC is the payer of last resort (Victims’
eligibility determinations private/public insurance must be used first.

e The victim/claimant must cooperate with DCVC can pay deductibles and co-pays if
DCVC and Law Enforcement otherwise eligible)

e The crime must be reported within 48 hours
(May be waived for good cause)

e The claim must be filed within 180 days ]
(May be waived for good cause) What DCVC Does Not Consider

e The claim must be filed within 4 years of the For Payment
incident. Upon good cause, the time for filing
may be extended four years after a diagnosis
of injury.

Property Damage

Property Loss or Replacement

Crime Scene Cleanup

Items Taken as Evidence

e Expenses Related To Court Attendance
e Pain and Suffering

e Utilities

e Mortgage/Rent

Some of these costs may be covered by other
sources

Types of Crimes DCVC May Consider

For Eligibility and Payment

Domestic Violence
Assault and Battery
Homicide

Criminal Sexual Assault
Stalking

Harassment

Leaving the Scene of an
Accident/Hit and Run
DUI/Felony DUI (Bodily
Injury or Death)
Reckless Driving/Reckless
Homicide

Other Violent Crimes

Note the following regarding payment

consideration:

A claim is required for the direct victim
before claims can be considered for other
family members

A Law Enforcement Incident Report is
required and victim’s name must be listed on
the report

Please call DCVC or contact your local victim
advocate to inquire about services that may
be available for other family members and
valid supporting documentation that is
required by DCVC to consider in processing
the claim



